First Recipe: a Socca

A smart, rookie blogger would probably post something extremely delicious like gooey brownies, melt in your mouth chocolate chip cookies, or something else along those lines for their first recipe. But, I’m going to take a risk here and make my first recipe post a socca.

Now it’s not brownie or sugar filled yummy, but it is quite delicious if you ask me and pretty darn good for you as well. AND, it passed the hubby test. So that’s a double win in my book!

Ok, so a socca is basically like a flatbread type thing made with chickpea flour. (So all you gluten free people out there will really love this!)  What I love about this recipe is that it requires very few ingredients, does not take very much effort to make, tastes great, and is a great alternative to a pizza crust! So here ya go…

Socca:

1 cup chick pea flour/garbanzo bean flour
1 1/4 cups water
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin

Turn the oven on broil. Mix all ingredients together and let sit for half an hour at room temperature. 

Spray cast iron skillet or a glass dish (really whatever dish you have) with Pam Olive Oil Spray, and place in oven for a few minutes to get the pan really hot. Take pan out and pour approximately a half a cup of batter (or however much covers the bottom) into the pan and broil for about 10-15 minutes. Keep an eye on it around 10 minutes. Edges might get a little crispy, but you want to get the middle cooked as much as possible. Plus the crispy edges are the best part!

Use spatula to get socca out of the pan and transfer to a big plate or cookie sheet. Then spray, reheat your pan, fill with more batter and broil over and over until there is no more socca batter.

Now, top with whatever you like! I ended up topping ours with salt and pepper, parmesan cheese, fresh tomatoes, sauteed onions, and spinach. I ate one with just salt and pepper and loved it. Really anything goes when it comes to toppings…I already have so many other combinations I can’t wait to try out on the socca “crust”!

So there you go! That is a socca! The possibilities are endless. I’m telling you, just give it a shot…I promise you will like it!

*I used Bob’s Red Mill Garbanzo bean flour

5 thoughts on “First Recipe: a Socca

  1. Anonymous says:

    Impressive!! I think I might be able to do this!!

  2. shelleymackay says:

    Looks yummy! Can’t wait to try it!

  3. Liz Spradling says:

    I learned from an experienced foodie that if you spray your food with Pam it looks better in pictures…this looks delicious!

  4. CM says:

    my mouth is watering!! can you send some my way? 😉

Leave a Reply

