Viceroy Granola

I’m about to give y’all a recipe of some of the best granola I’ve ever had. I’m talking Top 3 in my book! This recipe comes from the hotel Jeff and I stayed at on our honeymoon, The Viceroy Anguilla. I was lucky enough to have this for breakfast every single day. Jeff, not so much, because it had nuts in it…no nuts for our bubble boy! But, I was sure to rub it in his face how yummy it was! 😉

This was my breakfast every morning. They had just about anything and everything you wanted…so I got it all. I spy the granola to the right of the toast.

It was so good, I would smuggle a to-go coffee cup out some days full of this granola. I know, I’m ridiculous.

The day before we left, I couldn’t handle it anymore and I asked one of the servers if I could have the recipe. As I was expecting a “no”, she told me to wait a moment, and disappeared to the kitchen. The next thing I know, the chef who created this granola came out from the kitchen and introduced himself to us.

At this point I was slightly embarrassed, but I kept raving about this perfect granola. He could not have been any nicer, and then told us that he would have a package assembled and delivered to our room to have for the plane ride home, along with the recipe. Cha-ching!

Sure enough after we got back from dinner that night, there was a baggie of granola and the recipe printed on a piece of card stock with the Viceroy letter head on it. Talk about first class service!

The recipe he gave me could seriously feed an army….so I ended up cutting it in half..it could still feed half an army. Now, it’s not the healthiest granola in terms of calories and sugar etc. BUT, it is made with whole ingredients which I love. My next task will be trying to cut down the oil and sugar content without losing the overall flavor. Stay tuned for that!

Until then, here is the real deal!

Viceroy Granola:

  • 3 cups Old Fashioned Oats
  • 2 cups peanuts
  • 2 cups walnuts/pecans/cashews/sliced almonds (You can use your favorite or a mixture)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups unsweetened coconut
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup agave nectar, maple syrup, or honey
  • 2/3 cup vegetable oil

*You can also omit the nuts (like I have done for Jeff before), just increase the amount of oats and add whatever else you might like…sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, etc. Also, if you want to add dried fruit, add it after it is done and cooled.

Pre-heat oven to 245°. (This is the key to the granola, cooked for a long time at a very low temp)

Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl together. Whisk the oil and agave together in another bowl. Then combine the two.

Lay parchment paper on 2 large baking sheets. Spread the granola out over pans. Pat it down and make sure the granola is spread evenly.

Cook for 1 hour and 50 minutes! It could take more time, it could take less. It all depends on your oven. Slow and steady wins the race. Mine took about 2 hours (and probably could have gone longer, but I was too impatient). Keep an eye on it at the end!

The granola should be firm to touch and not damp when done, but it will be a little “squishsy” (sorry that is the only term I could think of) or gooey. It firms up more one you let it cool on the pans.  You just don’t want the bottom to burn. Break into chunks and store in an airtight container.

Caution: Do not eat right out of the oven like I did/do! Wait for it to cool!

Hope you like it as much as I do!

One thought on “Viceroy Granola

  1. Alicia says:

    Sounds yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

