The 2,400 mile and 4,800 minute Drive

Before I get started on the the details of our drive up to the Great White North that was about 3 weeks ago…I want to apologize to all 7 of my readers (give or take a few) for being so MIA in my first few weeks up here. I will keep using the excuse, “once I get settled” I will post more frequently.

I’m not going to promise this time; I’ll just try harder.

Onto the drive….

When looking at the map, it looks like one heck of a drive, but it really was not that bad at all. Dougie and I took our sweet time, and enjoyed the whole thing (well, almost the whole thing!) One of us, may or may not have had a bit of a meltdown in Calgary when it was getting late and he didn’t know where we were and couldn’t see well in the dark! πŸ˜‰ Other than that minor detail, we had the best time together, and I’m so glad I got to spend that time with my Dad!

It is a trip I will remember forever! πŸ™‚

Travel details:

Departed Houston, Texas on Wednesday, September 12 @5:00am

Arrived in Edmonton, Alberta on Saturday, September 15 @1:00pm

Distance Traveled: 2,400 miles

States we drove through: Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, Wyoming, Montana

Spent the night in: Ogallala, Nebraska; Billings, Montana; Calgary, Alberta

Highlight of the trip: Mt. Rushmore

Number of times we ate pizza: 2

Number of hours Doug drove: 34

Number of hours Julie drove: 4

MVP of the trip: Dougie Fresh

Here is our trip in photos:

And, this is home…for now…

Thanks for the fun drive up, Dad!

Now, it’s time for me to discover a whole new city!

One thought on “The 2,400 mile and 4,800 minute Drive

  1. Huckie says:

    Good Luck on this new adventure Jules and Jeff!!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

