What’s been a-happenin’…

Anyone still out there? (Hey Mom!)

Considering it just took me about 6 tries to log-in to my WordPress account due to forgetting my password, confirms I have been a very bad “blogger” and have not posted in a very long time! Unacceptable in the blog-a-sphere.

But, here are all my excuses as to why I have not posted for the past 2 months:

-We flew back to Michigan early November to get a little break from the lockout, and spent Thanksgiving there with Jeff’s fam! So clearly I was too busy stuffing my face with all the Thanksgiving yummies, or hopping on the Texans’ bandwagon at my first Thanksgiving Day football game in Detroit to update Southern Sweet and Salty.

photo 1

Excuse the caterpillar on Jeff’s face.
Forgot about Movember…

-During that stint to Michigan (so Nov 7-25), I actually booked myself a ticket to Houston to surprise my mom and dad! HUGE success! I have to thank Blake for assisting me on that one to make sure it all went over smoothly. I have to say it takes a lot to pull fast ones over detective, Shell-Mack. I had to go as far as texting her the night before from Jeff’s phone telling her that “I dropped my phone in the toilet and would have to take it to get fixed in the morning.” I know that if she called me the next morning when I was flying and it went straight to voicemail, she would begin to think something is up. Gotta cover all my bases!

Needless to say I had a short 4.5 days to spend with my family and few friends I got to see, so no time for blogging.

-Upon our return to Edmonton, we made the executive decision to pack up EVERYTHING in the next 5 days and DRIVE 30 whatever hours back to Michigan, and wait out the lockout there. (Better skating and workout opportunities for Jeff in Michigan) And when I say everything, I mean everything. We left our super cute/awesome apartment in Edmonton sparkling clean like we would never see it again (at this point our optimism was real low that the lockout would actually end…or at least mine was.) So, packing and driving across two countries didn’t lend me enough time to blog either.

photo 2

photo 3

This picture is deceiving. I actually only drove about 5 of the 32 hours.

-Once we got back to Michigan, Jeff got right into skating and working out, and I…well I really don’t know what I did for the next few weeks.I felt so scatter brained during those 3 weeks, it was all a blur. But, being before Christmas I spent most of the time Christmas shopping (on a lockout budget), making a few pinterest crafts, eating my body weight in m&m/white chocolate pretzels, visiting a chiropractor, and not blogging.

photo 4

Crack.

-December 22 Jeff and I hopped on another plane to head down to Dallas to spend Christmas with my mom’s whole family! I could not have been happier to get to spend our first Christmas with my family, and show Jeff how we celebrate Jesus’ bday! It even snowed in Dallas on Christmas Day, so Jeff got his white Christmas he’s always use to. It was truly a blessing we were able to spend Christmas with our families this year! (About the only thing I am thankful for during this lockout!)

photo 5

Great Grandma, Mimi B

photo 2

Honey and Grandaddy Sir with all the grandkids

photo 4

Christmas Morning 🙂

-Woah, BACK UP! I missed a MAJOR date/distraction that took me away from my little blogging hobby. December 20th, Jeff and I CLOSED on a HOUSE! Yep, during all of this madness we became homeowners! HOMEOWNERS! This was by far the biggest event that has been consuming me for the last couple of weeks.

photo 3

View from OUR backyard!

-In the meantime, the New Year came and went. Happy 2013! We spent our first night in the new house on January 1st (best way to start the new year if you ask me)! Yes, we only had a bed in the house, but it was SO fun to be in OUR home! Then the lockout ENDED at 5am one morning. I only remember this because I got up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night and crawled back in bed and began to scroll through twitter (everyone does that at 5am, right!?). Then I read it, “TENTATIVE DEAL MADE BETWEEN NHL AND PA!” That was enough for me to sling my arm across the bed to hit Jeff and wake him up saying we you are playing hockey this year!!!!

-The next few days I was busy helping Jeff get ready to leave for Edmonton, getting the rest of our belongings moved over to new house, having walls painted to my liking, and waiting on the arrival of all my furniture and belongings from Texas. I might be biased, but I have to say my parents get parents of the year because they loaded up a Penske truck and drove all my sheeesh up from Texas just so we could get somewhat settled and have all our stuff in one spot…finally! This all happened in such a little window of time, it’s actually incredible thinking about how much was done in less than 2 weeks! It was a whirlwind for sure, but well worth it!

*To go along with my list of excuses for not blogging, we were internet-less since we moved into the new house, so I really couldn’t blog. (That is actually my most valid excuse I have….the others were just because I was a bit preoccupied! 😉 )

Image-1

Top: Before, Bottom: After.

Now, we are back in Edmonton! And, it feels GREAT (I don’t even care that I’ll be freezing for the next 4 months)! It’s finally time to relax a little bit, and just enjoy a lot of hockey! And to contribute more to Southern, Sweet, and Salty.

Go Oilers Go!

4 thoughts on “What’s been a-happenin’…

  1. ShelleyMackay says:

    Nice to see you are back!! Love to read your entries even if it is 12:37AM!!! Muchos besos!!xoxo

  2. CM says:

    I love this!!! I am laughing out loud over here and I can’t believe you went to all the trouble to tell Shell-Mack that you dropped your phone in the toilet. Impressive. I can’t WAIT to visit the new home sweet home!!

  3. Karen Metclaf says:

    Thank you for this! The only way to keep up with my favoirte girl! Happy to see you settled, waiting for more photos. I agree…. you have GREAT parents!

  4. Justin says:

    Your mom isn’t the only one who’s been waiting patiently for your next post.

Leave a Reply

